Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey fellas. Decided to join the forum as a precursor to owning a duramax sometime in the near future. I am currently finishing up my Criminal Justice degree and heading back home to work and buy myself a Chev/GMC Duramax. I am new to diesels, but not new to mechanics/turbos or anything of that nature. I currently own a 93 Honda Civic, 1970 Chevelle and 99 Subaru Impreza (school car) so this will be my first truck. I'm a drag fanatic, thats what my civic/chevelle is for, and I need a truck to drive daily but also be used to tow my cars to and from the track. I'll be reading and learining as much as possible and looking for tips/pointers on what to look out for when I do decide to purchase a new truck. Thanks for the opportunity to lurk and learn, I learn quickly so I look forward to sharing what I can in the future.

Heres a couple pics of my babies

Turbo setup on my civic

·
Registered
772 Posts
Welcome!! Ditch the ricer ;)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know I will grow out of it one day (I'm only 23) BUT I have a 600+whp turbo motor built ready to go in it within the next year...Hopefully see some 9's.

·
Its just a worktruck
13,908 Posts
Welcome to the DF! Dont be surprised if you end up making the truck faster than the cars.

Nice Civic. Real clean and no rice! B18C?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I don't plan on modding the truck out too much, just making it a functional daily that performs and looks nice. Looking into a RCD 6" lift and 35x13.50x20's for a stance. I work for Les Schwab so I have endless possibilities of what to go with... Plus I have the other cars to race.
Thanks for the civic comments and yes, the NA motor is a 82mm B18C all OEM built putting down right at 200whp and runs low 13's. The turbo motor was an OEM built LS Vtec on 15psi (t3/t4 .57 trim garrett) that made 365whp 240tq and ran 11.4's til I blew it up.