Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, new to the group. Looks like a TON of great information on here. I’m about to purchase my dream truck (2019 Duramax Denali) after a pretty rough accident totalling my previous 5.3 Sierra SLT.

I’m a carpenter, far from a car guy let alone a Diesel guy! Is this a good year? Anything I should be particularly worried about?

2019 6.6 L5P 2500 Denali, certified pre owned, 56k miles. I appreciate any insight! Thank you!

· Registered
1 Posts
Do not buy it the 2017 L5p straight up garbage it's the problem child of the L5p
My truck is currently in the shop getting fixed once again the DPF system cloggs up with no tune it doesn't Regen like it supposed to ecm will loose communication then check eng ligh the I lost an injector driver and I shut it down and got it towed and now the shop is telling me I need a new motor because raw fuel mixed with the oil and dryed up the bearing an know I have a dead cylinder with only 133k on the truck and have only owning it for 4 months yeah I guess I need to research before spending 55k on a lawn ordament

yeah this list can roll on for ever.
not like the truck stuck broken down

· Registered
2021 Silverado 2500HD LTZ L5P
906 Posts
Tow heavy loads?? Drive longer distances??

If not prolly not a good idea. Modern emissions diesel need to be driven a good bit regularly.

I do tow a heavier trailer occasionally and would have been fine with a 6.6 gas motor but for me it was more a want than a need. I do drive longer distances a lot so I can get the truck hot and run it for a bit. I would have loved the 3.0 lm2 if it had a bit better tow rating.