Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, so bear with me. Just bought my first diesel last week and am finding a lot of little problems with it... but maybe Im just too picky, although it is a $47,000 pick up, so I expect a little better quality than a cheap little pickup. Anyway here is what I have found so far, if anyone has run into the same problems please let me know what it was...
1. I have a pretty bad belt chirp from one of the pulleys that doesn't go away until the truck is fully warmed up.
2. the dashboard makes a big thud randomly (I think it a dampner or something in the HVAC system, if I shut it off the sound stops)
3. My driver seat pops sometimes when I go over a speed bump or a bump in the road, it feels like something is separated in my seat.
4. On top of it all, it occassionally sounds like something is shorting or plastic creaking due to stress under the driver side dashboard. (can't figure this out.)

Anyway, just wondering if any of the people out there ran into similar problems. Already have an appt with the dealer, but other than the belt sqeak, have a feeling that the dealer won't fix the other stuff.

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts
Welcome!!! Yeah, most of those are common problems with the GM trucks.

2. I believe you are right on that one...we have a truck at work that does this too...I haven't noticed mine doing that, but my truck is a little louder than the new ones while idling.

3. My truck sometimes does this...I have read where they have fixed it on other people's trucks. I haven't noticed mine doing it lately though either.