Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
06 Duramax LBZ Dually- mods to come
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Guys,
Hoping you can check my thinking on some first mods for my 2006 LBZ dually. I'm pretty new to this, so any help is appreciated!

I am not looking to make any major power increases. Just want to increase response and MPG's if possible without spending a fortune.
I like the truck as is in stock form, but want to pull a 5th wheel on occasion. Just wanting MILD upgrades for performance and MPG's with reliability in mind.

Here's what I'm thinking:

Edge Evolution CTS2
(Only looking to stay in mode 1 or 2 for trans safe reliability. Liking the screen with gauges to monitor EGT's, Boost, etc. Do I need a separate probe for EGT's to read?)

Remove cat or muffler and run straight pipe.
(Some have said the cat is best to remove. Others say muffler. Thoughts? I don't want it super loud, but whatever will breathe best. I know many talk about replacing the entire exhaust. Not sure the cost is worth it for what I'm doing...)

EGR Block/Delete
(Any specific kits best? Do you need to retune after installing? Will this work with the Edge CTS2?)

PPE Airbox mod to stock airbox

Any other mods or considerations I'm missing? I take it I don't need a lift pump at the lower levels? PCV reroute?

Also considering servicing the Allison trans. Thoughts on the Trans Go kit? Transynd Synthetic fluid?

Thanks again!!!

·
Premium Member
3,561 Posts