Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - I'm negotiating for a 5th wheel toy hauler. Dry weight is 9126lbs and the GVWR is 13875lbs. I have a budget of + or - $30,000 for the truck. I want an extended cab, 4X4, automatic and preferably a short bed as I also want the truck as a daily driver. I don't want to do any mods until after some running time. Looking at the used market - I can get up to a 2008 for around $30K. It looks like the 2007 - 08 have the most pulling power and are supposedly quieter and better built? Some say the GMC is a better choice than the Chevy? I had a '99 Silverado (gas) and was not impressed with the finish and plastic interior. The less noise the better - I work on large diesels for a living and I don't like listening to them unless someone is paying me!
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
833 Posts
i think you would be happy with a 06 or a 07 with a LBZ duramax in it. for 30k you will pry be looking at a 06 or else it will have quite a few miles on it

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
I would never tow a fifth wheel with a short bed. That's me though. I do agree with the years you listed. Just stay pre DPF.

·
Registered
4,803 Posts
Welcome to the forum

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the welcome and input. I thought I would have to go with the long bed until I watched this video:

Are there any handling problems with a short bed other than maneuvering in tight spaces?

·
Banned
1,914 Posts