Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I just bought a 2005 GMC 2500HD with the Duramax/Allison combo. I am new to diesel motors, but am already learning alot from this site. I have a few questions though. Where is the fuel filter and is it hard to change and how often? How many miles or kilometers can you expect out of a duramax motor? I noticed that the allison has a spin on filter, does it also have an internal filter, and when should those two filters be changed as well how often should the fluid be changed? Anyone know where I can find a maintenece schedule?

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts
the fuel filter is on the passenger's side right by the fenderliner in the back. The allison has 2 filters, one internal, one external. When you change the external, there should be a magnet on the top of the filter. As far as when the fluid and filters should be changed.

External filter - no more than 10000 miles
internal filter - upon overhaul of tranny (or when you have to take the pan off)
Fluid - it depends on your fluid and driving conditions, but every 25,000 miles for "severe" and 50,000 for normal.
Fuel filter - GM says every 15,000 miles, but I would change it more like every 10,000 or sooner. It's cheap insurance on the engine.

And by the way, welcome to the site!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the great info guys. Do any of you know if their is a repair manual like chilton or hayes available that covers these trucks with the duramax/allison combo? Also I noticed that my truck has 2 batteries in the engine compartment. One is in the usual space the other is on the passenger side by the firewall. What is this second battery for?

·
Registered
300 Posts