Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i found a dealer who said he could sell me a set of 4 terra graplers 315/75/16 for 938 out the door. i was wondering if that was a good deal bc im new to diesels and getting tires bigger than 285. also i was wondering about how many miles id be able to get out of them?

thanks

·
Registered
412 Posts
I have 265-70-17 Terra Grapplers on my work truck, I have 26,000 miles on them since new 18 months ago, no flats, but all 4 are almost bald, and the rubber has been hard as a rock for the last 6 or 8 months and they have had no traction on the pavement since they got hard. Would not buy again. I will go with BF Goodrich all terrains next time.

·
Registered
3,389 Posts
Depending on your rims/ ride height you might want to reconsider 315's. I had Nittos on my lb7 and loved em. All depends on how you treat em.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I know how much everyone is against it but I know atleast 3 people personally who ran 315/75/16 on their stock 16" rim so that's what I'm gonna do as well. An my good buddies are ford diesel mechanics an they know duramax mechanics an they all said it shouldn't be a deal running that size of time on the stock rim

·
Registered
3,389 Posts
Its all personal preference. I had a local tire shop refuse to put 285s on stickers.

·
Confidence Antler
1,997 Posts
After the cupping issues I had with 285s on my stockers I would never run 315s on the pyo.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I personally am now running 275-70-18 Nitto TG's on my truck and all I can say about them is buy two sets because mine have only lasted about 20K, and they are close to needing replaced. They grip good but i have been less than impressed with how they have worn. I do not abuse / burn tires so this is simply wear

·
Registered
897 Posts