1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
Lb7 or lly? Look at your 8th digit in the vin. Is it a 1 or a 2

·
Premium Member
379 Posts
Mine will Idle at around 30-40 on the cluster gauge after s/u then when warm 20-30

·
Registered
2,040 Posts
30-40 at start-up and idle. 50-60 cruising at 70-75. The gauge will jump around a lot depending on throttle position. When hammer down, jumps to almost 80.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Mine sits at 10-20 idleling. And 20-30 cruising, is that normal
Yeah that's normal because your injectors are bad. I bought an '04 LB7 in November of '10 and by the end of January my oil pressure was going down rapidly. When I checked the oil level it looked like it was full, but knowing what I know now it was over full due to diesel in the crankcase from the injectors. This is my first diesel and I am by no means an expert on turning a wrench on one, but what I've learned in the last two weeks makes sense to me, and someone please correct me if I'm wrong. The oil pressure is dropping because the diesel is cutting the viscosity of the oil. Soon you will see a combination of oil and diesel down the side of your truck, mostly on the passenger side from the crankcase becoming so full it has to dump some of the cocktail out. You can do an oil and filter change and your oil pressure will jump significantly, but it will soon drop again and then you'll get the mess on the side of your truck again. This will continue to happen until you fix the injector issue. Along with the mess you will notice your mpg to drop considerably!