Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,
I swapped out the 2 piece driveshaft on my 2007 Crew Cab long bed dually today and thought it might help if I posted the info here for all. The job took about 2 hours from set up to clean up. It was also done on my back in the driveway so guys with lifts and a better selection of tools should be able to get it done quicker. On a 1 to 5 scale I'd rate this about a 2 and I'm no mechanic by a long stretch.
First thing is a list of parts and prices. The part numbers were a real pain to get because everyone wanted a VIN number. I finally got a VIN from my local dealer for a 2015 CCLB diesel and that opened Pandora's box for me.

Driveshaft: PN 23251132 $422.10
Pinion yolk kit: PN 19257639 $127.50 This part comes with a new seal, washer, and nut so no need to order the pinion seal separately.
Retainer: PN 23170499 $7.78 NEED 2 this is the u joint strap.
Retainer bolt: PN 11548472 NEED 4 these are your strap bolts. You can use the old ones but I chose to get new.
I also chose to replace the transfer case output seal, this is a pricey one and you may or may not want to do it.
Seal: PN 12478093 $62.04
Total: $637.78
Tax: $38.27
Grand total: $676.04

I know I could have saved some money by going to the internet, but I do a lot of business with my local dealer so I decided to go through him and keep my money where I live. I cannot speak to what trucks this will and won't fit so your on your own there. I will add some more detail in another post.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ok lets get into a bit more info here. This is the way I did it and I'm sure it's not the only way, just my way. First this is a great time to change your transfer case and rear differential lube. Your going to loose a bit of each when the driveshaft is removed so why not.