Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes I have a 08 Silverado 2500 when pulling my 26’ toy hauler my duramax starts running towards 230 degrees . When I’m not pulling anything , normal driving conditions , 210 , normal or not?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes I have a 08 Silverado 2500 when pulling my 26’ toy hauler my duramax starts running towards 230 degrees . When I’m not pulling anything , normal driving conditions , 210 , normal or not?
Engine temp I assuming. Gauge on my dash.

·
Super Moderator
980 Posts
That's a little warm especially for the upper Midwest. Have you cleaned your cooling stack lately?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Engine temp I assuming. Gauge on my dash.
I’m sorry I’ve only had this truck for 3 yrs . I’m new to diesel trucks so what is cooling stack . When I first had warm running issues it was DPF filter and Catalytic so I went straight pipe and problem disappeared for a while and first time this year pulling it for a three hour trip it would warm up . Does it have anything to with using tow/haul mode?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I’m sorry I’ve only had this truck for 3 yrs . I’m new to diesel trucks so what is cooling stack . When I first had warm running issues it was DPF filter and Catalytic so I went straight pipe and problem disappeared for a while and first time this year pulling it for a three hour trip it would warm up . Does it have anything to with using tow/haul mode?
I just found out what cooling stack was , radiator, trans cooler , I will clean those thoroughly as well as a radiator flush!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Could be thermostats starting to go bad. My truck did this but it came with a check engine light. Was a pretty easy fix. Also consider a coolant flush. They are recommended every 150k miles

·