Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I’m new to this forum but I have a 07 Chevy duramax lbz classic body style. I can be just driving it and it’s random sometimes it does it the day after I add coolant or week later. I can be driving it and stop somewhere and leave the truck running when I left the truck temp was 210, I get back in and it’s sitting on 160. And later it’ll puke coolant. I’ve replaced the thermostats already. I’ve read it could be head-gaskets but I find it hard to believe it could be head gaskets. Could it but something else?

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Head gaskets if it's coming out the over flow. IMO

Could be water pump, though

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I’m hoping it’s the pump I just don’t believe it could be a head gasket. I’m new to a duramax. But something else I notice it cold I’ll fill the overflow up and after driving it for a bit it’ll be almost be empty. Why does it suck all that fluid up? There’s no min or max line on the container, I just don’t quite understand why it pulls all the fluid out then manages to push it out. Are the ways to test to see if it’s a head gasket before pulling the heads off? And anyway to check the pump without pulling it off? I appreciate all the input thanks

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Take it out tonight and romp on it a little bit. Tomorrow morning, give the upper radiator hose a squeeze. It should be relatively soft, like a tennis ball.

If it's hard... better save for a head gasket job.

I, myself, was once in head gasket denial, too. Lol with my lly

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Got in it’s this morning hose is soft could squeeze it flat drove 5 mins got out let the truck idle for 10 and come out coolant coming out the over flow

·
LHN...We ARE the Joneses
26,485 Posts
How would I temporarily bypass the EGR cooler? And will it hurt anything while I drive it to see it’s that’s the problem