Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I just bought a 2002 chevy 2500 HD with the Duramax 6.6 and the Allison Transmision. I notice that when I leave a dead stop and start to move forward in Drive I'm feeling and hearing a pretty good jolt from the rear end. The shifting is super smooth and quiet but the something seems strange in the rear end. The Chevy dealership's sevice department is telling me this is a common characteristic in this truck with this powertrain. Wondering what you think before I pursue a 2nd. opinion.

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
55 Posts
sounds normal to me. :eek:

·
Registered
86 Posts
I'm new to both this forum and Duramax/Chev. I just bought an 02 K3500 CC,LB,w/36K miles. I have not noticed such a rear end noise, clunk, or gear slack. The only time anything similar happens is when shifting the Allison into gear, then it's not a clunk, just a lurch against the brakes. Differential gear setup is exacting and if not performed with precision, either the gears will whine, clunk, growl, well you get the idea. Kinda like never buy a car built on Friday or Monday thing- well perhaps you guys are too young to remember those days.

·
Registered
55 Posts
welcome to dmaxforum ray!..and yes im too young to remember...lol

·
Registered
1 Posts
Pull the driveshaft and lube the spines, noise will go away.

·
Registered
85 Posts
David Kott said:
Hey guys. I just bought a 2002 chevy 2500 HD with the Duramax 6.6 and the Allison Transmision. I notice that when I leave a dead stop and start to move forward in Drive I'm feeling and hearing a pretty good jolt from the rear end. The shifting is super smooth and quiet but the something seems strange in the rear end. The Chevy dealership's sevice department is telling me this is a common characteristic in this truck with this powertrain. Wondering what you think before I pursue a 2nd. opinion.

Thanks guys.