Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I would like to thank Durallymax for his "Read Before Posting Please". Because I am a newbie, I have read it twice, made a copy of it, copied the fuel filter write-up and the tick/knock write-up. But I still have 3 questions.
I have a 2006 Silverado 2500 HD
(1) where can I get a good repair manual, or do I have to spend the big bucks for a GM manual?
(2) The lights on the steering wheel and dash are slowly going out. How can I replace them, or are they fiber optic and if so how can I get them to work again?
(3) There seems to be some confusion as to what engine I have. According to the Wikipedia, I have an LLY. But I have seen other posts saying that this is an LBZ. My VIN's 8th digit is "2" . So far I'm going with the Wikipedia.
Thanks for any help or comments,
HF

·
Registered
6,215 Posts
1 and 2 i cannot answer, but for 3 if you still have the stock intake it has a sticker that says the hp rating. if it says 310 its an lly and if it says 350 its an lbz.

·
Oh...... Squirrel!
24,083 Posts

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
1 and 2 i cannot answer, but for 3 if you still have the stock intake it has a sticker that says the hp rating. if it says 310 its an lly and if it says 350 its an lbz.
360 HP * :drink

You can replace the lights, just bulbs.

·
Registered
2,566 Posts
First off, I would like to thank Durallymax for his "Read Before Posting Please". Because I am a newbie, I have read it twice, made a copy of it, copied the fuel filter write-up and the tick/knock write-up. But I still have 3 questions.
I have a 2006 Silverado 2500 HD
(1) where can I get a good repair manual, or do I have to spend the big bucks for a GM manual?
(2) The lights on the steering wheel and dash are slowly going out. How can I replace them, or are they fiber optic and if so how can I get them to work again?