Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I am new to diesels and recently just purchased a 2004 Silverado 2500HD with a 6.6 LB7 motor. I have been reading and reading and there is alot of aftermarket stuff to get for these. The over whelming part is how do you decide what is right for you?

So here is my question:
What made you get what you put on your truck?
Was it price?
Was it worked better then a different product?

Next question is:
Do you take it all off when you sell your truck and try to fit it to the new ot just let it all go with the old truck.

For me, money is going to play a huge part in what I put on but as of right now it will be a:
CAI = because it will help performance and gas mileage
Lift Pump =because from what I read it will help save my injectors vs any kind of gain. Is that correct?

I hope you all have patience with us newbs here. Just trying to learn the right way to do things. Oh yeah I learned this too:
Duramax = Bada$$. love it so far.

Registered
Welcome to the forum

- Adam

Registered
Welcome. IMO keep your stock intake and spend in the money on a 4 or 5 inch turbo back exhaust and delay the lift pump until after your EFI Live tuned. Just my 2 cents, enjoy the truck!

Registered
In the case of an lb7 i would probably go ahead and grab a lift pump. Anything to prolong your injector life is good in my book. The added filtration will definitely benefit you in the long run. Other than that, a 4 or 5" straight turbo back exhaust is a good idea, along with an upgraded turbo mouthpiece.