Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
RPM's shuld be smooth and constant at idle if all is well. The most common culprit is a tiny air leak in the fuel system somewhere. Inspect the flexable fuel lines from the tank to the fuel pump, if there is even the tinest air leak, surging, hard starting, and infrequently small drops of fuel on the driveway happen. Flexable fuel lines fail from the inside out, so if in doubt, replacing the line may be prudent depending on the age of your truck.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Is this a common problem? This didn't happen until I ran some cleaner thru it. A friend of mine said it sounded like a fuel pump to him!! Would a fuel pump cause this also? BTW thanks for the help, I am very new to the world of diesel.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Does the "service engine soon" light come on? If not, the problem is something GM didn't consider. The fuel (injector) pump shouldn't be causing this unless you have purchased contaminated fuel and your fuel filter failed. This is the reason for injector failures on certain years of trucks. Diesel fuel has a natural affinity for water, and condensation in the empty part of your fuel tank will accumulate a surprising amount of water in your tank, especially when the outside temperature swings large amounts from days to nights. The flexible fuel lines deteriorate from the inside out, so when it's noticeable, the inside is really bad. The lining may swell and block fuel passage, suck in air without leaking fuel out, or simply reduce the amount of fuel flowing. If your truck is over 3 years old it's worth an inspection because of your complaint. I'm only an amateur so don't take my advice as gospel.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·