Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's going on durmax forum. I'm new to diesels/duramax ownership now so I thought this would be a great place to learn abt it.

I recently purchased a 2003 ext cab 4x4 hd with around 113000 miles for$11500 from a friend. What do i need to know abt maintance and what not. And im looking into purchasing new rims and tires for a more offroad aggressive look along with exhaust, chip and air intake. What are good brands and cheap places to look? Thanks for all the help and see ya around.

Erik

·
Ain't lookin' back
278 Posts
Welcome to DF and congrats on your purchase. :cool:

·
Registered
3,389 Posts
Welcome to the DF! First thing is the 03 has the lb7 engine. It is known for bad injectors but there is the occasional truck that will last 200k before it needs them. Most will tell you that the stock airbox on your truck is good to 500 hp. You can look up the PPE air box mod to get a little more airflow. Most people here are running MBRP exhaust. Diamond Eye and Silverline also. Go with a dp back 4 or 5 inch and there pretty easy to install on your own. As for a chip most people including me will recommend EFI Live custom tuning from a knowledgeable tuner. Get your wallet out because this site will make you spend money!

·
Registered
4,629 Posts
LB7 Air box is crap, suggest upgrading to LBZ intake & mouthpiece
I would run a treatment every other fill up minimum (something to help keep your sticks clean and has some lubricity) I use Diesel Kleen but its really all in your preference.

Check your oil regularly and watch out if you start making extra oil...it will be likely due to diesel dilution and it sucks bro, been there done it.