Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey everyone. im getting ready to change my thermostats. in the winter my truck will only get to 160 degrees while driving and at idle it drops to 130. my heat is not so great. so I figure its time to replace the thermostats.
now being a mechanic I usually replace every o ring and seal that gets disturbed, that said. from looking at the lay of out of the thermostats. im thinking I need the two thermostats.
now here is the question. is there a seal that seals the housing down? and do I have to remove the tube that is bolted into the back of the thermostat housing? and if I do, is that o ring separate from the pipe?
thanks for all your help!

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
no one? no one can give me some help??

·
Registered
514 Posts
Been a while since I done t-stats but IIRC the t-stats have a seal on them, the small hose is just a clamp on, but if you remove the large pipe from the housing I would replace that o-ring. You shouldn't have a problem bleeding the system, some say crack the fitting on top but they actually have a small bleed hole built in, not a big project to do.

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks! i didnt know if the housing had a seal or an o ring around it. i wish i could pull up a parks expoded view somewhere.
i like when i get parts at work or even online for Polaris it shows the parts and what is attached to them

·
Registered
2,753 Posts
I need to change mine too I think. Is it a one way fit or is it possible to put them in the wrong way?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
dont think so, but i have seen people do stupid stuff before.
ive tried to do a search on here of a "how to" but didnt find any. anyone know of one?

·
Registered
1,587 Posts