Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
913 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to the Diesel world, and new to having a rig capable of actually pulling out another vehicle, plus I'm one of those people who like to research/learn how to do this the right way before attempting them to ensure I don't make some bonehead decision that ends up costing me $$$$ in repairs due to my lack of knowledge on something.

So I've been outfitting my rig with some basic "accessories" such as jumper cables, ratchet straps, tow hitch/ball, bottle opener :), bed spider net, some basic tools etc. and next I'd like to get one of those 10,000lbs tow straps to throw in the mix.

I'm just looking for some advice on what are the proper techniques, big no-no's, and safety precautions when trying to pull/yank a vehicle out of the mud, sand, etc.

I know the "duh" things like don't attach the strap to a bolt on bumper, rather find a town hook or a part of the frame to pull against.

But what about just hooking it up via the tow "hook" vs. wrapping the strap around itself? Is one way better than another?

I've also heard you should throw a towel, or jacket over the connection to damper any recoil should the strap break.

Where is the best place to hook it to the truck? Is the rear tow hitch/frame better than one of the front tow hooks?

What other things should I know?

thanks looking forward to learning some stuff!

·
Doin it...
1,278 Posts
This is gonna be a good thread! Sub'd

·
Premium Member
1,357 Posts
Don't yank. You could easily snap your strap that way. The shovel or jacket idea is correct. The tow hooks on the front work well because all your weight is on the front. The most important thing to have on your at all times is COMMON SENSE

·
Premium Member
1,568 Posts
You sound like you have a good idea what to do and what not to do...but

1. try to avoid using shackles to connect straps to tow hook/hitch