Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
685 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so even an idiot like me can change the tranny fluid on this truck. My only problem was I thought a little more than 7 quarts should come out when you pull the plug. Once the old fluid drained I filled with 7 and about 1/3 quarts of new fluid. When I checked my dipstick showed I was way to full. It was reading about 1/4 inch over the "hot" indicator and it was cold fluid. I refilled the old bottles with what came out of the truck and I had just about 6 quarts of old fluid. What give? I thought you were supposed to get something like 7.7 quarts out when you drain???

I had to unscrew the plug and let about a quart of new fluid drain out and made a mess when I pushed the plug back in.

I am by no means a mechanic and if an idiot like me can change his tranny fluid you would be a dumbass to pay $200 to have someone else do it for you.

In about 2000 miles I will be doing my 1st oil change on this truck with Rotella T6. How much oil comes out when you pull the oil filter off. Hopefully not much because it is installed sideways not straight up and down like I am used to.

·
Registered
6,230 Posts
Watch out when you pull the drain plug, 10 quarts of oil has a lot more force than you might think and a complete different experience than the standard 5 quart gasser. I will no longer have that experience as I have a Fumoto valve, takes a little longer but less issue blowing oil in all over. The oil filter is not to bad just a pan below it should do the trick...

The transmission, keep it just below the hot mark and your good to go on the Allison, it has to be operating temperature which takes about 30 minutes or more...

·
Registered
16,268 Posts