Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,287 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Years ago I was a truck driver in the Army and gained a decent bit of experience operating a variety of heavy vehicles, from military-specific equipment like HETs and HEMTTs to trucks that have more obvious civilian counterparts such as 800- and 900-series tractor trailers. As it so happens, I was grandfathered (written test and DOT physical only) into a class A CDL that I have never used, and have no real intent to use. Nevertheless, I'm curious: if I were to rent a class A or B vehicle from, say, Ryder Truck, what legal documentation would I require in order to operate it legally? I'm not talking about HAZMAT or tanks or anything like that; just a box truck/trailer. Thanks for any information.

·
Premium Member
17,807 Posts
I think--!! If the GVR is under 26k, you can operate with a class "C"-[regular license] in Calif, and assume the same for most states.

·
Registered
5,874 Posts
Depends on what your doing with the truck. Moving? or hauling someone else's stuff for money.

·
Premium Member
256 Posts
I think--!! If the GVR is under 26k, you can operate with a class "C"-[regular license] in Calif, and assume the same for most states.
Same in NC. I carry a Class B so we can drive our fleet around in the shop, but we cant hit the interstate. We don't have to have a physical since we are a municipality.

·
Registered
1,287 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Depends on what your doing with the truck. Moving? or hauling someone else's stuff for money.