Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
07 Truck in Shop, Bad Injector on Backorder- Please help

Hello everyone. I'm new to Diesel trucks and this forum. I bought a 2007 2500HD Classic Duramax last year and it now has 79K miles. 2 weeks ago the truck started knocking at low RPM and sometimes a loud knock then spit black smoke that quickly turned blue/grey. I could let off the gas to stop the knock and accelerate and things would seem to be ok. It progressively got worse as I drove it to the shop. Its still under the 100K warranty. The dealership said it has a bad fuel injector. Bad news is that its been 2 weeks and the dealership cant tell me when it will be fixed as there is a worldwide shortage of injectors and they are on back order wtf:. Apparently no dealerships in the area have them either. I'm beyond pissed at this point GrrRRrr. What can I do? HELP MEEE

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Called the dealership and GM today and still no ETA.

So I've read a few reports about bad injectors from 2001-2004 era, but is it common for a 2007 to have bad injectors with only 79K miles? Are the injectors that hard to change for a do-it-your-selfer garage mechanic with common tools? I dont know the failure modes of these injectors, but if its due to bad fuel, is changing the fuel filter more often than ~10K miles and/or running some fuel additives worth it?

·
Registered
4,138 Posts