Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2011 GMC 2500 diesel truck with 220,000 miles
Heading down the road, smooth or not, pulling a trailer or not and truck will shut down for 1-2 seconds and then resume normal operation. What i mean by shut down, the motor seems to keep running but no power at peddle. Dash lights up with service traction control, gas gauge needle reads empty (even though full of diesel) and service light comes on. Happened on my last 600 mile trip 18 times and only 8 on the way back. Then a few days of driving will pass and it won't happen at all - Totally random. Truck has been to the dealer 3 times now and they don't know what the problem is. All they want to do is change out parts and i'm not good with that because they wont guarantee it will fix problem. Service tech at the dealer drives truck around with computer plugged in to see if he can isolate the problem while its happening and still cant figure it out. Yesterday afternoon I backed up the the trailer, hooked up, and went to start the truck and nothing. No power at the key, not even a light on the dash would come on. Walked back in the house and eat lunch. 20 min later the truck started up no problem and drive for 300 miles with no issues pulling a trailer. I've checked the batteries, load test good, cables appear to be good, alternator id charging at 14.6 volts while motor is running, fuse panel is connected and no sign of mice or rates have ever been seen under the driver side fuse box. Problem seems to be getting worse. Dealer claims they have never experienced this before until today when the service department called me to say another truck will be coming in next week with what sounds to be similar issues. I can't be the only one experiencing this issue.
PLEASE HELP!

Thank you in advance

·
Registered
645 Posts
they wont guarantee it will fix problem.