Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I am looking to get a programmer. My question is which one. My biggest benefit I would like to see is mileage, next would be the ability to remove dpf and maybe a few other pollution pieces, third would be towing, and fourth would be pure power. With that being said I need the truck to be reliable. I am new to diesels but I have done some reading, mostly on Edge, Efi, and the Mini & Black Maxx. I like the idea of the custom tunes with the EFI, however I don't have the knowledge to build my own tunes and I am concerned with no guages and does it have any protection? I like the Black maxx with the idea of having guages and some automatic protection, my question with it is can I get a custom tune for mileage? I like the price of the Edge with it having most of the options that the maxx has except for the custom tunes. Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
1,788 Posts
I am like you, looking to get the most bang for the buck out of a tuner. Most guys on here will tell you just go with EFI Live.

·
Registered
4,585 Posts
Go EFI. I would reccomend a Pretuned ECM and a dsp5 with all the tunes you want. Alot of guys on here have started with other tuners like me (edge and superchips) and they always end up regretting it. Everyone seems to end up with EFI. Don't waste your money other places

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have a feeling I will get a lot of votes for EFI. That being said is their any automatic protection? Can you hook up an EGT? Would it be a good idea to run stand alone guages? If so which setup is recomended?

·
Registered
1,417 Posts