Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 07 classic LBZ and want to do the typical 3 upgrades. This is my first diesel son i am new to this game. I am mainly looking to increase the fuel economy but also have the power when needed. I have talked to a local performance shop an they recommend the Banks six gun, banks monster exhaust, and AFE stage 2 cold air intake. Any recommendations or advice would be helpful to try and get all the facts i can before i make my decision.

·
Diesel Addict
7,754 Posts
welcome to the forum..good ?'s
Programmer=the best for the dollar is the Diablo or Hypertech but the best are the PPE tuners and if you have the time to make your own tunes go with the EFILive
Exhaust=you can't beat the Silverline and MBRP products
CAI=i would recommend the AFE,Volant,S&B,Banks or Amsoil and don't go with the K&N filters or a filter that needs oil so stay with the dry filters and i would say the AFE is the best one avalible but if you want to save your $300 for something else do this http://www.duramaxforum.com/forum/0...scussion/2010-cheap-cai-upgrade-your-lbz.html and have something with almost the same amount of gain as a aftermarket CAI..
the ultimate setup would be the PPE,4" TB 304SS Silverline exhaust and the AFE CAI but i did the PPE CAI upgrade along with the PPE tuner and Silverline exhaust and gained almost 4mpg with this setup..just my thoughts

·
Registered
15 Posts
I just pulled the Six Gun off my 2001... Was having all sorts of electrical problems with the truck. Pulled the unit and everything is back to normal.

Of course, Banks claims none of those problems could have been caused by their unit because they "only tap into the engine management harness." :Smack

·
Diesel Addict
7,754 Posts