Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
915 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I noticed my voltage gauge moving around a bit yesterday, and seeing as I'm new to the diesel world, thought I'd ask here if this is a problem or not.

I guess you have to click the picture above and it will take you to my photobucket page, where the video will play, Can't figure out how to embed it.

As you can see in the video, the gauge is moving around a bit. This is from a cold start with the outside temp at around 63 degrees. I don't drive my truck as a daily driver, and it had sat for about 2 weeks since being started last. I was just sitting there at an idle letting the rig warm up a bit before taking off, radio was on as was the A/C when I noticed this.

I didn't notice any other "side effects" or issues and once I had driven around for a few miles and came back to an idle, the gauge was right above 14 and stayed there.

Thoughts?

·
Administrator
8,818 Posts
It will be low (around 12v) at startup and will raise to around 14v after about 30 seconds or so due to glow plugs & intake heater.

·
Registered
915 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It will be low (around 12v) at startup and will raise to around 14v after about 30 seconds or so due to glow plugs & intake heater.
Ah good to know. It just seemed odd that it was moving so much, but yeah between glow plugs and the heater your right it would be drawing a bit off the batteries/alternator.

Thanks for the info, just wanted to make sure I was ignoring something that could be potentially bad.

·
I'm That Guy...
16,689 Posts
As long as you stay above 12v I wouldn't worry, if it starts dropping below 12v I would look at replacing the alternator.

You might just check the grounds and power connections to make sure everything is tight as well. Check at the battery, starter, alternator, and the grounds.