Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I picked up my first lb7. The PO said motor was knocking, had some brass flakes in the oil so he pulled it. He owned a landscape business and got swamped with work so he was unable to fix it.
Here's what I know/was told:
Motor is said to have 223k on it
Has been sitting since may of last year
PO didnt know anything about the injectors, if they've been replaced or not
Rod and main bearings have some wear but nothing looked serious

My plans:
Lbz rods(sitting on the shelf)
Studs
P&P heads
50% over injectors
66mm turbo
Built trans
Efi
Supporting mods etc.

As you will see, I'm pretty much taking over someone else's unfinished project. The motor looks like a mess, I'm mechanically inclined and all but this seems a little intimidating since im new to duramaxes lol. Are there any good write ups or manuals that would be able to help me out? Any tips or tricks I should know about before tearing into everything?

Thanks,
Eric

·
Premium Member
3,633 Posts
ill get our lb7 guy over here for ya he will help ya out the best he can! btw i wouldent bother with a port and polish heads, aint worth the money spent for the little gain it has

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've heard mixed reviews on p&p'ing duramax heads.
Some say do it, others say nay. My girlfriend had her heads ported on her efi tuned 04. Claims there was a difference but I'm not so sure. My teacher always said money spent on the heads is money well spent, but we were talking mostly gassers. I just don't want to be in the same spot I am with my Cummins. Had the head fire ringed and studded and slapped it on, one of my biggest regrets was not getting it ported, I thought about pulling it to have it done but it has taken a lot of abuse so why break something that works.

·
Registered